DoneThat vs Pieces
Developer tool for saving code snippets, context, and AI assistance.

AI Memory: side-by-side
Tools to archive your digital life and make it available for later use by eg AIs.
| Tool | Input data | Platform support | Data location | API |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Privacy-first work tracker and AI coach Best for: Calendar-like timeline of your work. | Screen, audio, apps | macOS, Windows, Linux | Cloud | Yes |
Developer tool for saving code snippets, context, and AI assistance. Best for: Developers who want to save and reuse code snippets with AI help. | Cross-app capture, code and context | Desktop | On-device | Yes — unlimited MCP |
Pieces is best for
Developers who want to save and reuse code snippets with AI help.
DoneThat is best for
Calendar-like timeline of your work.
Pieces: pricing and platforms
- Starting price
- $18.99 per month (Pro), with a discounted yearly option
- Free tier
- No free plan; 7-day trial on any plan, credit card required, plus a 14-day money-back guarantee
- Platforms
- Windows, macOS, Linux
- Worth knowing
- Enterprise is $22.99 per month or $69.99 per quarter and adds organisational control over approved providers and feature access. Note the trial asks for a card, unlike several competitors here.
Pricing as of , from Pieces's pricing page. Vendors change prices without notice, so check before you buy.
What Pieces does well
- On-device long-term memory, so the archive stays local rather than sitting on a vendor's servers.
- Unlimited MCP access to Claude, Cursor and other MCP-ready tools — genuinely the strongest AI-tool integration story in this comparison.
- Works across multiple models including Claude, Gemini, ChatGPT and local models, so you are not tied to one provider.
- Cross-app capture rather than being limited to one editor or browser.
- Single-click summaries and recaps of what you were working on.
- 14-day money-back guarantee on top of the trial.
Where Pieces falls short
- $18.99 per month is among the most expensive per-seat prices in this comparison.
- The 7-day trial requires a credit card, where several competitors do not.
- Platform support is not stated on the pricing page, so confirm your OS before subscribing.
- Built as a memory layer for developer workflows rather than a record of how your time was spent.
- No time reconstruction, so it will not tell you where your week went.
- No coaching, goals, nudges or accountability features.
See the full ai memory comparison or visit Pieces.
The short answer
Pieces and DoneThat are the two products in this comparison that take AI-tool integration seriously. Both keep a record of your work and expose it through MCP so an assistant can use it.
The difference is what the record is for. Pieces builds a memory layer whose purpose is to make your assistants better. DoneThat builds a reconstruction of your working day whose purpose is to make you better, with MCP as one output among several. Pieces' integration breadth is genuinely stronger; DoneThat has coaching, goals and time reconstruction that Pieces does not attempt.
Where Pieces is genuinely ahead
MCP integration breadth. Unlimited MCP access to Claude, Cursor and other MCP-ready tools is the headline feature, and it is better than ours on this axis. If your goal is "every assistant I use should know what I have been working on", Pieces is built precisely for that.
Model flexibility. Claude, Gemini, ChatGPT and local models. You are not committed to one provider's roadmap or pricing.
On-device memory. The archive stays local, which is a stronger storage position than cloud-processed alternatives.
Cross-app capture rather than being trapped in one editor, plus one-click summaries and recaps.
A 14-day money-back guarantee on top of the trial, which is more generous than a trial alone.
Where the two diverge
Memory for assistants versus a record for you. Pieces' memory exists so your tools have context. It is infrastructure with a very good interface. DoneThat's record is the product — a reconstructed day you review, correct and set goals against.
Time. Pieces will not tell you that nine hours went to a recurring meeting this week. It is not measuring time; it is remembering content. If the question is "where did the week go", that is not what Pieces is for.
Coaching. Don nudges you onto goals, blocks calendar time for them, flags low-value work while you can still fix it, checks your mood, reminds you of meetings, suggests breaks. Pieces answers when asked.
Pricing
As of 11 August 2026:
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Pro | $18.99/month, discounted yearly |
| Enterprise | $22.99/month or $69.99/quarter |
Enterprise adds organisational control over approved providers and feature access. There is a 7-day trial that requires a credit card, plus a 14-day money-back guarantee.
Two notes. At $18.99 Pieces is at the expensive end of this comparison — you are paying for the integration depth. And the card-required trial is worth knowing about, since several competitors here (Toggl, Timing, ActivTrak, Rize) do not ask for one.
Platform support is not stated on the pricing page, so confirm your OS before subscribing.
DoneThat is subscription-based with a 14-day free trial; current prices are on the DoneThat download page.
On storage
Pieces keeps memory on-device. DoneThat never stores screenshots — processed in real time, immediately deleted, only the derived structured activity persists. Excluded apps are redacted on your machine before anything is sent, and with your own Gemini or OpenAI-compatible model raw activity never reaches our servers. The desktop app is open source.
Both are defensible. Pieces keeps a richer archive under your control; we keep a thinner one and give you the option of processing it entirely on your own model.
Where Pieces is the better choice
- AI assistant integration is the point. Unlimited MCP across clients is its strongest card.
- You work across several models and want to switch freely.
- You want on-device memory with a mature interface over it.
- Your work is code-heavy. The developer workflow focus shows, in a good way.
- You want organisational provider controls. Enterprise covers approved-provider governance.
Where DoneThat is the better choice
- You want to know where your time went. Pieces does not measure it.
- You want coaching, not recall. Nudges during the work rather than answers on request.
- You want goals tracked and something that notices drift.
- You want a team dimension — summary-level dashboards, relative trends rather than per-person hours, visibility set per summary, optional mood tracking.
- You want peer accountability. Follow others, share summaries, Slack and Discord, accountability groups — all opt-in.
- You want a trial without handing over a card.
Can you run both?
Plausibly, and they overlap less than the MCP-shaped marketing suggests: Pieces for content memory feeding your assistants, DoneThat for the time record and the coaching. Two subscriptions at these prices is a real cost, so this is for people who genuinely want both.
How we compared these
Everything stated about Pieces comes from its public pricing page, read on 11 August 2026 and linked below. Platform support is not quoted because the page does not state it.
Claims about DoneThat are first-hand: we build it. Pieces' MCP integration breadth is better than ours and its model flexibility is wider — both stated plainly above.
Sources
AI-generated comparison
Prompt
Compare https://donethat.ai/ and https://pieces.app/ honestly. Check both websites yourself, then summarize where DoneThat is stronger and where Pieces is stronger. Do not rank them globally.
Result
DoneThat and Pieces both passively capture what you do on your computer, but they aim at different buyers: DoneThat positions itself as an automated time tracker and AI productivity coach for founders, PMs, consultants, and freelancers, while Pieces positions itself as a long-term memory layer that feeds context into LLMs and dev tools for developers at larger companies.
DoneThat stronger
- DoneThat publishes concrete pricing tiers ($4, $8, $16/month) and a 14-day trial right on the home page, so a buyer can self-qualify in seconds.
- DoneThat's outcome pitch is specific and quantified (double productivity, ~23 hours/week saved across six categories) rather than abstract second-brain language.
- DoneThat targets a broader knowledge-worker audience (founders, PMs, consultants, freelancers) instead of being scoped to developers, which is a better fit if you're not writing code all day.
- DoneThat surfaces an explicit AI coach persona ('Don') with daily/weekly reviews and goal-setting, making the behavior-change angle more tangible than Pieces' memory-retrieval framing.
- DoneThat highlights workflow automation hooks (API, MCP, Zapier, n8n, CSV export) that make it easier to push tracked time into existing billing, reporting, or ops stacks.
Pieces stronger
- Pieces is clearly built for developers, with first-class plugins for VS Code, Chrome, GitHub Copilot, Claude, and Cursor that DoneThat doesn't advertise.
- Pieces leans on a named proprietary engine (LTM-2) and a 9-month memory window, which reads as a more defensible technical moat for context-heavy work.
- Pieces' core use case, feeding accurate personal context into LLMs across tools, is a sharper fit if your main goal is better AI answers rather than time accounting.
- Pieces emphasizes local-first, on-device processing as the default, which will land better with security-sensitive enterprise buyers evaluating an always-on capture tool.
- Pieces covers Windows, macOS, and Linux on the home page, giving Linux-based developer teams an option DoneThat doesn't visibly call out.
Questions people ask about Pieces
- What does Pieces actually do?
- It keeps an on-device long-term memory of your work across applications, then makes it available to AI tools — with unlimited MCP access to Claude, Cursor and other MCP-ready clients — plus one-click summaries and recaps. It is a memory layer for your assistants rather than a time tracker.
- How much does Pieces cost?
- Pro is $18.99 per month with a discounted yearly option; Enterprise is $22.99 per month or $69.99 per quarter and adds organisational controls. There is a 7-day trial that requires a credit card, and a 14-day money-back guarantee.
- Is my data stored locally with Pieces?
- Yes — memory is saved on-device, which is a stronger position than cloud-processed alternatives. DoneThat's approach differs: screenshots are never stored at all, and with your own model raw activity never reaches our servers.
- Pieces vs DoneThat for MCP?
- Both expose your history through MCP, and Pieces' integration breadth is better — unlimited access across Claude, Cursor and other clients is its headline feature. DoneThat's MCP server exposes reconstructed work history and adds goals and coaching on top. Pick Pieces if the assistant integration is the product; DoneThat if you also want the coaching.
Comparison last verified against Pieces's public materials on . DoneThat makes one of the products compared here; competitor claims are drawn from public sources and never from private data.
Ready to try DoneThat?
Fully automated AI time tracking and coaching. 14-day free trial.